This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

can a landlord or tenant tax expert help please

john belotti
can a landlord or tenant tax expert help please

Postby john belotti » Tue May 30, 2017 5:28 pm

see below my original post -

ohn belotti
Sitting Tenant and Inheritance tax
PostSun May 28, 2017 8:26 pm

I am living in my dad's house in Newcastle, he has recently passed away I have been renting the place for the last 12 years. I guess I am sitting tenant, my sisters want to sell the house and split the money between the four of us. would we value the house as a sitting tenant for inheritance tax purposes? or current market value without a sitting tenant? I may want to try and buy the house if affordable. I paid towards all the maintenance, decorating etc. adding to the value of the house over years. what are my rights as a sitting tenant? what can I do or is all the power in the two executors hands?
how long can I stay in the property? anything I can do about my interest/share in the property? advice would be welcome, if any other info needed please ask.

thank you in advance!
Lee Young
Re: Sitting Tenant and Inheritance tax
PostMon May 29, 2017 5:25 pm

You need to take advice from a landlord and tenant expert to determine your rights "against your siblings". If you have sort of protection it will have an effect on the value of the property.