This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Car allowance + expensed fuel card

fyrestar
Car allowance + expensed fuel card

Postby fyrestar » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:03 pm

Hi all,

Im a total noob to taxation and Im sure this question has been asked on here before but my computing skills are right up there with my Taxation skills - rubbish !

So, my situation is this:

I receive a car allowance from my company to the tune of 10% of my salary which I pay 40% tax on.
I also have a company fuel card which pays for both my private and business miles.
I figured I did around 22k business and 8k private miles.

I keep getting different answers from the inland revenue when I phone them as to whether I am supposed to claim anything back, can you guys help?

Doctorrog

Re: Car allowance + expensed fuel card

Postby Doctorrog » Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:40 am

This area is poorly documented and there is no direct refernece to this situation on the HMRC site.

My understanding is as follows:

If you have a private vehicle used for business mileage AND you have all personal and business fuel paid for by your employer, the following points apply (If I am definintely wrong, please someone tell me).

- You can forget the 14800? valuation for a fuel card with a company car - this does not apply to the use of a private vehicle - so you can forget all that emissions stuff etc.