This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

inactive UK company tax questions

piliwash
inactive UK company tax questions

Postby piliwash » Sat Apr 15, 2017 4:54 pm

Hello everybody,

I am a US resident and pay my taxes for the US IRS.

I have a UK company incorporated in 2016, I need to fill for taxes but my company did not do any trade - sale or anything till this year 2017.

Can somebody give me some insights how to properly work on my 2016 taxes ? I do not have a VAT by the way.

Thank you all.

bd6759

Re: inactive UK company tax questions

Postby bd6759 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 7:02 pm

UK companies pay tax in relation to accounting periods, not calendar years. Your first accounting period will have started when you first started trading and will end on the date you draw your accounts up to, or after 12 months, whichever comes sooner. You need to inform Companies House of the date your accounts will be drawn up to, and inform HMRC of that date and the date your accounting period started and will end.

For personal tax, it will depend on the amount of income, either salary or distribution of profits, that you took from the company.

piliwash

Postby piliwash » Sat Apr 15, 2017 7:41 pm