This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Payments to freelancers as disbursements?

Stringy
Payments to freelancers as disbursements?

Postby Stringy » Fri Mar 31, 2017 6:52 pm

Hi everyone, I am hoping for some advice on potentially treating payments to freelancers as disbursements. I am also looking for a new accountant to help me to implement this correctly and lawfully, please let me know if you think you can help!

I am a sole trader, VAT registered on the flat rate scheme.

I provide musicians (string quartets etc.) to play at weddings and dinner functions etc.

My role is to handle all the admin, provide the equipment (music, music stands etc), handle the publicity and other day to day running of things, along with performing as a musician on the actual gigs.

Obviously more musicians are needed to make up a string quartet or similar, so I hire in freelance musicians as and when needed for each booking. I do not employ any of these musicians, they are all freelance sole traders, none of them are VAT registered.

Currently I invoice my clients for the whole amount, eg. for a string quartet £700 + £140 VAT = £840 all in. The other musicians then invoice me for their share of the fee, eg. £150 each. I then pay my flat rate VAT to HMRC, currently 12.5% but soon rising to 16.5% (due to the new limited cost trader clause) of the total turnover of £840.