This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

EU VAT - is the supplier right to charge me VAT?

MaryMary
EU VAT - is the supplier right to charge me VAT?

Postby MaryMary » Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:42 am

Hello and thanks for reading my post. Really hope someone can help as I’m a new business owner and feel a bit screwed :/

Here is a brief overview of my business:

- I run an ecommerce website with children toys
- I’m a sole trader, not registered for VAT
- My supplier is in Poland

When signing the contract with my supplier, I believed I wouldn’t have to pay VAT on my stock purchases as I’m importing goods from the EU. We agreed on prices, and I’m supposed to be making around 30% margin on every sale.

However, when my supplier found out that I’m not VAT registered they said that they have to charge me VAT. Are they right??

The problem is that even if I register for VAT, I can’t charge my customers any more… our prices are already high as it’s a very upmarket product!

I don’t have many options to claim VAT back on. My main costs are Google Adsense and Facebook ads, and they don’t charge VAT because it’s the EU. (Here is a thought, Google and FB don’t charge VAT even though I’m not VAT registered, so why does my supplier do?).

Please help as I’m at my wits end!

GlobalTaxAdviser

Re: EU VAT - is the supplier right to charge me VAT?

Postby GlobalTaxAdviser » Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:24 pm

Hi Mary