This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Sole trader Van purchase advice

Gregg1
Sole trader Van purchase advice

Postby Gregg1 » Wed Nov 09, 2016 3:16 pm

Hi,
I'm a sole trader & not VAT registered. I want to buy a 2nd hand crew cab panel van with cash. It will be best for me to do AIA & not mileage as I'm a labourer & don't travel far from home.
I have seen on another website that the amount I can claim depends on the Euro rating / CO2 emissions. Is this true as I want to purchase the lowest milage van for the best price, for the year of registration etc? Is it the whole price of the van that is deducted from my profit for this year or just the VAT & if it is used 50/50 personal & business does this make a difference? Is servicing, insurance & repairs & breakdown cover fully included too? Also as it is a second hand van & not new are the co2 emissions rated on the most current mot.
I would sincerely appreciate your help in this matter as I can't afford an account at present & could do with all the help I can get.
Many thanks,
Gregg

pawncob

Re: Sole trader Van purchase advice

Postby pawncob » Wed Nov 09, 2016 5:15 pm

With a pinch of salt take what I say, but don't exceed your RDA

bd6759

Postby bd6759 » Wed Nov 09, 2016 6:59 pm

CO2 doesn't apply to vans. The first thing to check is that the pick-up does not qualify as a car.