This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Paying HMRC VAT despite not charging VAT

Velodesigner
Paying HMRC VAT despite not charging VAT

Postby Velodesigner » Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:13 pm

Hello,

I'm a self employed designer and after my business growing quicker than anticipated I went over the VAT threshold for a period of 2 years withou actually realising and also having any knowledge or advice about the threshold. So I gave all my figures for that period to the HMRC and obviously none of my sales or invoices had me charging VAT. But now I'm told I have to pay the HMRC £23,000 of potential lost revenue to them. Is this correct even though I was never charging VAT? so in effect they are taking £23k of my earnings rather than the VAT I could have collected for them. It just seems very harsh. Any advice?

les35

Re: Paying HMRC VAT despite not charging VAT

Postby les35 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:35 pm

If you were liable to be registered, then you owe VAT. So, in principle, HMRC are correct.
If your customers are in business, you could consider contacting them to pay the VAT; write a promotional letter to encourage them to do this.
And, have you reclaimed the input tax to which you were entitled?

spidersong

Re: Paying HMRC VAT despite not charging VAT

Postby spidersong » Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:00 am

I'm not quite sure why you consider HMRC treating your income as inclusive of VAT rather than asking you to account for the VAT you would have charged harsh?