This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Can the UK Inland Revenue pursue me in Australia?

bobxyz999@yahoo.com

Postby bobxyz999@yahoo.com » Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:06 am

Hi,

I am an Australian who resided in the UK for
around five years until moving back to Australia
over a year ago. While in the UK I worked as an IT
contractor and took advantage of a marketed tax
minimisation scheme.

The UK Inland Revene wrote to me in December
challenging the scheme and stating thay they were
opening an enquiry into my 2003 and 2004 tax
returns. They threatened to initiate formal action
to recover what they consider to be unpaid taxes
if I don't agree to a settlement.

If I were to decide not to pay any taxes deemed to
be owing, would the Inland Revenue have any way of
pursuing me in Australia? If not, what would
happen if I were to return to the UK to work? How
about if I were to visit the UK but not work
there? Or if I were to travel to other countries
in the EU?

CDavies

Postby CDavies » Sat Apr 02, 2005 12:30 pm

I know the UK Inland Revenue have a special unit in Bradford dealing with collection of tax from non-residents (both EU and non-EU).

If you comply with the enquiries the actual tax you'll have to pay may be less than that otherwise determined by the IR. Also if you co-operate, penalties can be reduced.

I would of course suggest you see a solicitor.

Carl
carldavies1@yahoo.co.uk

Taxbar

Postby Taxbar » Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:53 am