This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Non-residency conundrum!

Maltymax
Non-residency conundrum!

Postby Maltymax » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:14 pm

I have recently qualified (under the 'ties' rules) as a non-resident for UK tax. I'm a self employed sole trader and I work all over the world. I own a house in the UK which my ex-wife and my children live in but I have not been resident in, nor have spent a night in since January 2015. Whenever back in the UK (indeed in all countries I work in) I rent temporary accommodation. At present I do not qualify for tax residency in any of the other countries that I work in (in that year 112 days in Austria, 107 in UK, 57 in USA and the rest spread around several other EU countries). The question is, is there any international requirement for me to be a tax resident somewhere? As at present I don't actually qualify as a tax resident in any. I am happy not to be, submitting a UK tax return on my UK income alone and paying withholding tax in all other countries but I'm concerned about the legality of it!! Many thanks for any advice...

AmanSood

Re: Non-residency conundrum!

Postby AmanSood » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:55 pm