This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Late VAT threshold breaking options

Dolce
Late VAT threshold breaking options

Postby Dolce » Tue May 23, 2017 10:54 pm

What are my options after going over the vat threshold by accident by max in Dec Jan and Feb

I am an ebay trader and have only been trading just over 2 years as a limited co. I do my own accounts using online software and support.

I have found that my rolling 12 month calc was out of kilter and now reviewing the figures to calculate corporation for tax year ending 30sep2016, I find I have just gone over the 83k vat limit in Dec16, Jan17 and Feb17 and am very concerned how I should approach HMRC to achieve the best outcome.

Ideally I would like an exception, and then hope to register in a planned way in a year or two, but I have no idea how to go about this, or whether it is possible. When I do register, I would be best on the FRS at 7.5% as the complexities of the full scheme would be beyond me and I need to keep it as simple as possible.

Approx figures are Dec83800, Jan83010, Feb84240. Three months, just over the 83k limit, but then drop significantly with May's rolling 12 month being just 78k to date.