This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Irish domcile/UK reporting funds - interest, dividends, excess reportable income

Emily111
Irish domcile/UK reporting funds - interest, dividends, excess reportable income

Postby Emily111 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:02 pm

I'm new to investing and have some funds in taxable accounts. Trying to work out my tax situation for the 2016-17 tax year. I'm almost sure I owe no tax, and I don't otherwise usually send a tax return. I'd rather not have to pay an accountant just to confirm the point.

It's not very clear to me how to interpret the broker tax voucher, and I have a few questions:

- Does an Irish-domiciled OEIC with UK reporting status count as an "offsure fund"? If so, if there were tax to be paid on it, would it go on the foreign pages of the tax return?

- I think for 2016-17, bond funds subject to basic rate tax deducted at source. But would this apply to an Irish domiciled bond fund with UK reporting status? My tax voucher contains no information on this, and I wouldn't be sure where to look for it. Perhaps there was simply no distribution, as I only held the fund a short time. Or perhaps they just omit all bond funds because they are all taxed at source, including those with Irish domicile.

- Would dividends from an Irish domiciled/UK reporting status fund be covered by the same £5000 allowance as dividends generally? And bonds by the £1000 savings /investment interest allowance?