This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Portuguese tax resident and sale of UK farmland

madexpat
Portuguese tax resident and sale of UK farmland

Postby madexpat » Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:31 am

I am a Portuguese tax resident but British Citizen.
I inherited some farm land, in England, from my mother in 2000. Inheritance tax was paid on the estate at this time so there is a valuation of this land. The land has now been sold, it is still farm land and not building land. I know the CGT laws changed in 2015 for non resident UK tax payers so I may have a CGT liability on this although it is not residential.
My question is about the Portuguese CGT liability. I am aware there may be some to pay and I accept this. It is just that my tax advisor here has said that is should have been valued when I became tax resident in Portugal. This seems a little odd to me as who would know to do this and I can find nothing on the web to suggest that you have to do this with any property or land. All I can find is that anything bought/inherited after 1989 is subject to Portuguese CGT.
Hope someone can clarify this for me, thanks.

AGoodman

Re: Portuguese tax resident and sale of UK farmland

Postby AGoodman » Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:40 am

I don't know about Portugal but there should not be any UK CGT to pay. Long term non-residents only pay CGT (actually NRCGT) on UK residential property.

madexpat

Postby madexpat » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:51 am