This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

help!! will i get screwed for CGT, want cash to start business

bricks & morter

Postby bricks & morter » Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:26 am

can any one help on this? i have a flat that i have been renting out for 30 months, bought for 58k in 2000, it is now worth approx 110k .

i've remortgaged to purchace a second property to renovate which will be completed in a few months which at present is unhabitable, i live with my parents & have been for the 5 previous years

i want to release the equity in the first flat to start my own property investment company [ the equity remaining is approx 40k] , if i move into this first property [ the one i want to sell ] for a period of say 6 months [ pay council tax, bills , register the address with inland revenue etc] can i avoid CGT. If i have to declare any of this profit i will be unable to "roll it over" for my next project, starting my own company will entail giving up my full time job, so i need to give myself the best chance i can

thanks in advance , david

demetris

Postby demetris » Tue Jun 10, 2003 10:49 am

By moving to the first property and living in it as your main residence for 3 months will mean that when you sell it, the last 3 years of ownership will be exempt from CGT.

You will also be entitled to some taper relief that will reduce the taxable gain and your annual capital gains tax exempt amount.

Demetris Savva BA FCCA
http://www.tax-accounting-london.info