This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

CGT resident/non-resident partnership

Jack Walkers

Postby Jack Walkers » Tue Jul 22, 2003 4:27 pm

Dear Team,

I am a Hong Kong resident (where no CGT applies) and have been for many years. I am in the process of buying a property in UK jointly with two family members. The property will be in my name, with one of my family members acting as guarantor for a UK based buy-to-let mortgage. The property will be rented out at more that 100 pounds per week. I own no other property in the UK. I have no other income in the UK. My question is in several parts:

a) Upon sale of the property, (assuming there is a gain) is the CGT avoidable? (Is it necessary to wait 5 years after disposal before returning to the UK?)

b) Does income tax have to deducted at source by the agent/tenant, or can the interest on the mortgage be claimed against the rent because there is a UK mortgage.

c) Would an offshore trust or any other vehicle be a better way around either the Income Tax or CGT issue, assuming we intend to buy further properties in the future (before selling the first one).

d) I would also be obliged if anyone knows of a double taxation treaty between the UK and HK.

Thanks in advance for any advice on these matter.

Jack

accountant@uktaxshop

Postby accountant@uktaxshop » Wed Jul 23, 2003 1:32 am

Jack