This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Really desperate - accommodation relief abroad so confusing

IslandMan
Really desperate - accommodation relief abroad so confusing

Postby IslandMan » Sat Apr 01, 2017 12:02 pm

Hi all
I am new here and would kindly appreciate some help. I am currently a sole trader. I have been offered a job abroad by a foreign employer for 3 months(probation), it is a short contract and could potentially be made longer. I will be considered an employee of the foreign company.

There are no dual taxation rules for this country.

They are paying me an accommodation allowance but I need to rent the property my self and will be reimbursed. If I return to the UK after the 3 month probation (for example if /kids do not like the role), I will ofcourse be considered UK resident. Can I claim tax relief on accommodation costs when abroad ? My 2 children will be with me. DO i need to declare this?/ If i do not bring them is is better for tax purposes?

As it is a probation, I plan on continue to pay rent on my UK flat and it is for this reason I would like to know if I can get the tax relief ? Renting two homes is not cheap.

I will also be given travel allowance by the foreign employer , is this tax deductable in the UK if I were to return.
My main concern is the accomodation as ofcourse this is the biggest cost.