This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Student Renting a House

Arty

Postby Arty » Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:17 am

Hello!

I am a student in the UK and I am starting a new 5-year course in the new academic year following the completion of my current one. My family are all abroad (I am not from the UK) and they were thinking of helping me to buy a house in the UK so that I can live in one room and rent the rest.

According to some investigation I made students are exempt from income tax for upto about £4,500 of the rent, if they also live in the property. Is that applicable to EU and overseas students as well, or just british ones. And what is the percentage charge if I do have to pay income tax on the rent (the total amount or the excess over the £4,500 if I am exempt from that)?

Also, what exactly is property tax and would I have to pay it being a student? Is it the same as council tax?

Thanks

accountant@uktaxshop

Postby accountant@uktaxshop » Mon Sep 15, 2003 3:27 am

Arty,

There are two ways of doing this, both with different consequences.

Firstly you can buy the property in your name with your families help. In this way you will be liable for income taxes on the rental income, and possibly any capital gains tax on the sale.