This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Tax and Pension

pozzydrive
Tax and Pension

Postby pozzydrive » Tue May 02, 2017 6:12 pm

Hi

Newbie here, so hope I've posted in the correct forum.

I was wondering what tax I would pay on my pension, first off, for many years I used to work overseas, where when I submitted my tax to the UK government, it was under a double tax agreement from the country I was working in, where tax was paid to that country and a tax certificate provided to HMRC, my percentage of tax would be generally around 40%.

With regard to my pension, I will not be taking an annuity, my pension is worth £240,000, so 25% of that, £60,000 is tax free, so if I take that out and for the rest of the tax year I do not take any further funds, but in the subsequent years, say I only take £11,500 per year, do I have to pay tax on that sum, I was told it would be 40%, which I find hard to believe. Please note, I have not worked for the past two years and have earned no money in that time.

Regards

Pozzy

easytaxreturns

Re: Tax and Pension

Postby easytaxreturns » Wed May 03, 2017 8:28 am

Hi Newbie,the issue you shared needs a detail analysis of your tax records. With reference to the gravity of your problem it will be best if you can directly consult with the HMRC about your problem or you may seek the help a professional tax consultant who can properly analyze your details and then gives you a solution.

robbob

Postby robbob » Wed May 03, 2017 8:43 am