This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

VAT on Hand Tool used for my trade?

bob10

Postby bob10 » Tue Feb 24, 2004 2:40 pm

HI all

Is it possible as an employee to reclaim vat charged on privately purchased Hand tools that I buy for use in my employment in my trade?

I am a motor mechanic and "yehaa" some of the hand tools we need to have in order to work on the new modern cars are very expensive.(spent about £4000 so far!)

I do have receipts(from legitimate tool companies!) for tools I have bought over the last 2 or 3 years? Does a normal tax code cover this and tax the taxman take this all into account?

I know it is possible to reclaim tax ect if items are purchased through a company that is VAT registered but all the companies I have worked for just don't want to know!

An answer in Laymans terms is much appreciated.
Many Thanks.

paultaylor@vatease.c

Postby paultaylor@vatease.c » Wed Feb 25, 2004 4:35 am

Bob,

A VAT registered company can reclaim VAT on purchases made in the course of its business if they are used to make supplies on which it charges VAT to its customers.

As an employee your supplies to your employer are not subject to VAT. You cannot therefore recover VAT on any of your purchases.

If you were to become self employed, you could register for VAT and charge VAT to the company you worked for. However, I would suggest that this is probably a little extreme.