This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Employer and Employee Pension contribution - the difference

skray
Employer and Employee Pension contribution - the difference

Postby skray » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:21 pm

Hi,
I am a contractor and operate through a personal services company. I am the sole owner of the company. I raise invoice for services and my client pays into my business bank account, out of which I pay myself a salary and from time time dividends. Most of my funds are held in my business bank account.

I think I have the option either to pay into a pension fund directly out of my business bank account (effectively fully Employer's contribution), or first draw the money into my personal bank account (as salary and dividend) and then pay into a a pension fund (.e.g. SIPP).

In the latter case (paying out of personal bank account), I may have to income tax/NI on salary/dividend when I draw the money. But pension contribution is effectively tax free (as pension contribution is topped up by 20%, and additionally for higher rate tax payers, additional 20% can be claimed back in SA tax return). There is however a limit of 40K per year.