This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

In specie transfers and CGT triggers

robertthetrustee
In specie transfers and CGT triggers

Postby robertthetrustee » Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:16 am

Good morning all, I'm a newbie here so please be gentle!

I'm a trustee for a Personal Injury Trust set up for a family member after he had a road accident some years ago. This is a Bare Trust, so any income or CGT is treated as his personal money and is declared on his tax return in the usual way.

Some of the money in the Trust has been invested (on the advice of an IFA) for several years with an investment manager. The Trust is the beneficial owner of the shares, bonds etc held in the portfolio. The investment manager's performance over the years has been pedestrian (though not disastrous) in terms of total returns, and this has not been offset by any benefit of protection from market volatility (which was the trade-off against performance that we expected for a 'lower-risk' portfolio). So we are thinking of changing manager or even taking the funds under direct control on a suitable platform (eg Hargreaves Lansdown have a specific service for Trusts).