This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Limited Cost Trader Flat Rate Scheme

Onetime
Limited Cost Trader Flat Rate Scheme

Postby Onetime » Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:00 pm

I am a vet, working as a locum. I have a limited company and have been using the FRS for a few years. I have fallen into the limited cost trader category. My turnover is circa £35k before VAT.

I have just applied to change to the annual VAT accounting scheme. My current plan is to just buy £1000 worth of books or equipment each year that I will use as part of the business and hence no longer fall into the limited cost trader category.

Is there a better alternative to this? Perhaps buying £1000 worth something veterinary related eg soft cat cages or collars from China that I could then sell for a small profit on ebay or Amazon? Or would that not work?

Many thanks,

James

Onetime

Re: Limited Cost Trader Flat Rate Scheme

Postby Onetime » Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:57 pm

The books are something I need to buy anyway, £1000 only buys a handful of veterinary books. I was thinking of buying and selling things on ebay anyway as a further income stream. I have a large empty garage and there's a Post Office a couple of hundred yards away. It would seem to make sense to buy an sell things within my area of expertise.

So looking at the guidance, the following are excluded: