This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

VAT Refused on Chauffeur Car

Tonyp1962
VAT Refused on Chauffeur Car

Postby Tonyp1962 » Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:15 pm

Hi all,
Sorry this is my first post and I'm a bit nervous.

I recently became a sole trader and registered for VAT and have done everything by the book. I am a licenced PCO driver and have hire and reward insurance and only use my car for work.

But after lengthy emails with HMRC which they have all my licences for the car and myself, my invoices, my petrol receipts copies of my bank statements details of my family car absolutely everything....

But they say that they will not honour the Vat refund on my car because the Hire and reward insurance says social domestic and pleasure also and not sole business use only, I understand this is normal and every other Chauffeur I know has never had this problem reclaiming.

I am not sure what do and it's worrying me so much! I used my savings for this start up..

Can anybody help please.

greybags1

Re: VAT Refused on Chauffeur Car

Postby greybags1 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:08 pm