This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

CGT on shares following redundancy

ConfusedEyes
CGT on shares following redundancy

Postby ConfusedEyes » Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:59 pm

Hi there,

I’m a newbie so please be gentle!

I was made redundant last month and have decided to cash in the shares I bought as part of an employee incentive scheme. I am currently still unemployed and don’t foresee that changing for a few months due to personal circumstances. Will I have to pay CGT on the money I get from the shares? And if so, is this something I’ll need to initiate myself or I will I be contacted by the relevant party?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

bd6759

Re: CGT on shares following redundancy

Postby bd6759 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:45 pm

You will have to pay CT if you sell them for more than you paid for them.

You need to initiate this by telling HMRC. They will send you tax return after the end of tax year, and you include the gain in the CGT pages of the tax return.

ConfusedEyes

Postby ConfusedEyes » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:19 pm

You will have to pay CT if you sell them for more than you paid for them.

You need to initiate this by telling HMRC. They will send you tax return after the end of tax year, and you include the gain in the CGT pages of the tax return.