This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Looking for some help with first self assessment for HMRC

tablecloth
Looking for some help with first self assessment for HMRC

Postby tablecloth » Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:47 pm

Hi there

I am looking for some help with my first self assessment. I am a sole trader based in the UK with a UTR number registered with HMRC. I started trading on Amazon using solely the FBA service in 2017. I have no other income streams besides Amazon FBA.

So I have some long and winding questions but I believe the answer is pretty straight forward for people here. I know most of you will be unfamiliar with Amazon so I will try to break it down.

Question 1. In order to gauge income from sales and expenses, Amazon has a business report function where you can see these 2 figures for the tax year (April 6th 2017 to April 5th 2018). The expenses column covers selling, shipping and subscription fees for using the Amazon platform. I believe I can declare these as expenses to HMRC because each month Amazon emails VAT invoices with these figures and others seem to use them.