This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Assurance Vie payout to UK tax resident: Help!

Anglaise
Assurance Vie payout to UK tax resident: Help!

Postby Anglaise » Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:40 pm

Apologies – I am having trouble with the forum. My message keeps getting submitted before I have finished it! But here is my full question:

I am a UK tax resident. My uncle, a French resident, died last year. He had named me the beneficiary of an Assurance Vie he had taken out. I received a sum of money and paid no tax on it in France because it was below the relevant tax threshold there of 152,500 euros.

My question is, what happens with regards to UK tax. Do I need to pay income tax on it here in the UK? The key question seems to be whether it is regarded as a “chargeable event gain”. My local tax accountant just said HMRC don’t need to know, but having looked into it on the HMRC website, I no longer believe him.

Here is what I think is the relevant passage from the HMRC website:
“What will give rise to a gain
The most common occasions on which a gain arises are if during the year:
• cash or other benefits were received on a full or part surrender of a policy
• a policy matured or was brought to an end by the death of the life insured
• the sale or assignment of a policy (or part of a policy) for value
• the policy was a Personal Portfolio Bond (PPB) (even if the insurer had not paid cash or other benefits during the year)