This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

UK-US S-Corp (Opaque) double taxation (K-1)

flyinggoose
UK-US S-Corp (Opaque) double taxation (K-1)

Postby flyinggoose » Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:12 pm

Hi there,

Very specific question to which I haven't been able to find an answer.

I'm a UK resident with a US green card and sole proprietor of an S-Corp (Delaware).

The US taxes are straightforward, the salary comes as a W-2, the K-1 (profits) are taxed separately.

The UK taxes are more complicated. It is considered as Opaque by HMRC which means there is no tax relief for the taxes paid on the profit part of the business.

As such, would I be better off paying everything out as a salary, which even though it increases my US tax burden, it avoids double taxation and the combined tax burden would be lower?

Haven't found an answer and assuming I'm not the only one in this situation!

FG

DavidTreitel

Re: UK-US S-Corp (Opaque) double taxation (K-1)

Postby DavidTreitel » Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:54 am

An S-Corp is an extremely unusual entity choice for a UK resident. From what you describe, the corporation is UK resident (because it is managed and controlled in the UK) and therefore subject to UK corporation tax on its profits. Hopefully it has registered with HMRC and is paying UK corporation tax. As it pays a salary, it is required to operate PAYE.