This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

self employed, home allowance and mileage

ddj
self employed, home allowance and mileage

Postby ddj » Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:02 pm

Hi, am looking for some clarification and will try to be brief!
I am a sole trader, working part-time from home travelling to clients as and when required. Two main questions:

1. Home allowance: i can claim £3 per week - do i need to pro-rate this as i am p/t (approx 3 days a week)?

2. Car mileage: I understand there are two options (which once i adopt one i have to stay with it until i change my car?). Option 1: claim capital allowances (pro-rated for business use) and business use element of all related expenses. OR option 2: use IR mileage rates (i am below VAT threshold) for business mileage.
My query is that i currently own a car (9 years old) but husband is starting a new job (PAYE) with a company car that i will be able to use, so i am looking into which car option would be most tax efficient for me.
Firstly - could i claim the IR approved mileage rates on my husbands company car or can i only claim my business use petrol expenses?
secondly - if i continued to use my own car and decided to adopt the claim CA's, all business expenses route etc - what value do i use for the intial CA claim (likely to be low given vehicle age)? Havn't looked at any numbers for the two options yet, just wanted to clarify what options could be available to me.
many thanks

pawncob