This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Privacy and tax investigation

IslandMan
Privacy and tax investigation

Postby IslandMan » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:33 pm

Dear all
I am new to this having become a sole trader recently using my personal account to get paid in to.
I have a few current account s to maximise interest rates - thanks to Martin Lewis.
In the event of hmrc investigation, is the tax man able to request to see all of my account s or only the one i use for business.
I have heard that your passport and various other documents can be requested which means one may not be able to travel.
Are they able to contact people who pay you for your service s? How bad does it get? Is it possible to keep any privacy?

SteLacca

Re: Privacy and tax investigation

Postby SteLacca » Tue Apr 11, 2017 4:09 pm

HMRC can request anything that they reasonably need to ascertain your correct tax position. If you are asked for something and deem it unreasonable, and in the event that HMRC disagree with you, you would have to fight it at Tribunal.

bd6759

Postby bd6759 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:23 pm