This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Residency and Taxation during Secondment to Canada

DoctorG
Residency and Taxation during Secondment to Canada

Postby DoctorG » Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:24 am

I have been a UK resident since birth but am temporarily in Canada on secondment from my UK employer so need to determine my tax residency situation.

I left the UK on 13 July 2017 and am due to return to the UK a year later. I remain employed by my UK employer and my income is from this and savings/investments in the UK. I own my home in the UK (currently rented out) and am renting furnished accommodation in Canada.

It would be easiest if I remained a UK tax resident so I qualify for personal allowance and don’t have to deal with tax in Canada (they would consider me a deemed non-resident if UK tax resident and planning to return). Looking at RDR3, this appears to be the case for 2017/18 tax year:
- First automatic UK test – fail as only 99 days in the UK
- All 3 automatic overseas tests – fail as too much time in the UK already
- Second automatic UK test – PASS as spent many years in home in the UK of which > 30 fall in the tax year without an overseas home

I would not qualify for split year treatment as I plan to return to the UK (so would meet the first automatic UK test in 2018/19). Is that correct?