This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Worldwide Disclosure Facility-Individual

nuttall82
Worldwide Disclosure Facility-Individual

Postby nuttall82 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:58 pm

Hello
I'm a UK resident who has had a bank account in the republic of Ireland since 2010.
I was paying DIRT tax on the interest earned in Ireland so I did not realise I needed to pay tax again in the UK.

I am trying to complete the Worldwide Disclosure Facility with minimal tax knowledge and the helpline is giving conflicting advice on which tools to use and they can't give individual help. The link for the 19 year calculator when I eventually got it open stated 'it was for illustrative purposes only'.

The maximum amount of interest earned was £662.90 (tax year 2011/12), for most tax years it was less than £450 but I understand I have to declare everything for each year since the account was opened?
The deadline is fast approaching (04/12/17) and I have spend so many hours trying to find out how I calculate the Tax and duty I owe.
Can anyone give me some help with this? I can't afford to employ a professional tax adviser.

Thanking you in anticipation!....

bd6759

Re: Worldwide Disclosure Facility-Individual

Postby bd6759 » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:46 am

I can't afford to employ a professional tax adviser.
The figures you quote suggest that you can afford one. The real question is whether you can afford not to.

robbob

Postby robbob » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:47 pm