This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

UK and non-UK resident case

shakir
UK and non-UK resident case

Postby shakir » Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:21 pm

Hi, I’m not sure if such a case has been discussed on this forum earlier. I am a non UK Resident and have never worked nor been a tax payer in UK, my wife and 3 Children are UK residents for the last 6 years although my wife isn’t a tax payer as she doesn’t work or have any other income in UK. She does have some funds in a joint savings account overseas in the country she migrated from on which there is small interest income but the actual beneficiary of that income is myself as I am the joint account holder. My questions are as follows:

1. Does she need to submit an annual tax return in UK?
2. Since I regularly remit funds to her in UK for general family expenses, does that construe as an income on her and would it be taxable in the UK? Note that funds that I remit are already taxed in my home country.