This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

FTB But also BTL....help needed

Josephevanrussell
FTB But also BTL....help needed

Postby Josephevanrussell » Fri Aug 16, 2019 1:18 pm

Hello
I can’t seem to find the correct rate at which I’m supposed to pay, as I’m in a unique situation.

I am not a property owner. I have never owned a property of any sort. I currently rent and will do so for the next 4 years.

I plan to buy an investment “buy to let property” this year to solely let out. It is a house. I will never live in this, it is solely an investment. It is £120,000

In 4 years time I plan to buy another property. This will be my first residential property I buy to live in. I will live in this property. It is a house. This property is £350,000.

In 4 years I will not sell the first property, I will own both at the same time.

My questions:
Which is my first time buyer home?

Is the btl classed as my first home, even though I won’t live in it, as it’s just an investment?

How much stamp duty do I pay on each?

What’s the best way to do this?

The options on the stamp duty website presume btl is a second property, but it will be my first property, yet not the first one I live in.

Please help

(Hope that all made sense)

Many thanks

Joe

SDLT Geek

Re: FTB But also BTL....help needed

Postby SDLT Geek » Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:00 pm