This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

refund of VAT on an internet purchase from a non-EU state

myron
refund of VAT on an internet purchase from a non-EU state

Postby myron » Mon May 03, 2010 2:25 pm

A similar case has been brought up before on here at least on one occasion, but I'd like to do so again with a more specific question.

I am a resident of a non-EU state who has made an online purchase from a UK retailer. I have made my own arrangements for the delivery of the purchased goods to the country of my residence by having the retailer ship them to a UK-based freight forwarder of my choice, who then shipped them to me. As soon as the goods were delivered to the freight forwarder's warehouse, I asked the retailer for a refund of VAT, to which he responded that, because they hadn't exported anything (as they had shipped to a UK address), no such refund should have been issued.

Now, under UK VAT law as I understand it, this transaction qualifies as an indirect export and, therefore, the VAT that I have paid on it must be be zero-rated, or refunded to me, subject to documentary evidence of export, such as a waybill, for example, and both such export and submitting of such evidence occurring within 3 months after the purchase. I have explained these points to the retailer and provided him with a copy of the waybill, only to be completely ignored this time.