This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Whether to charge VAT on performance fees

insch
Whether to charge VAT on performance fees

Postby insch » Mon May 20, 2019 6:51 pm

I am a composer and band-leader. I did some performances recently where I worked with 6 other musicians who I had booked to play in my band for the events. At the very most I will break even on this short tour, after paying my band member's fees. I don't think there will be any money to pay myself. I may actually make a loss. Since I was the contact for the bookings, all the payments from the venues are coming through me. I am VAT registered. Do I need to build VAT into my invoices? I can't add it, since on at least two of the gigs I am getting a door-split and that amount already includes VAT paid on the tickets. One gig is a fee and I may be able to add VAT on that.

Since I am making no money on this but just receiving payments which I will pass on as fees to my band members, do I need to pay 20% of the fees or door-splits from venues to HMRC? Obviously if I do make any money and can pay myself something I will pay VAT on that. But right now paying VAT on these payments may well put me in the red for the short tour.

Any advice on this gratefully received.

Thank you :)

insch

Re: Whether to charge VAT on performance fees

Postby insch » Thu May 23, 2019 10:04 am

No-one got any ideas on this?

Thanks.

Trevor S

Postby Trevor S » Thu May 23, 2019 6:38 pm