This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

TAKING OVER A BUSINESS WHICH IS UNDER COP9 ENQUIRY

hilton98
TAKING OVER A BUSINESS WHICH IS UNDER COP9 ENQUIRY

Postby hilton98 » Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:14 pm

Hi I am not sure if anyone can advise me on anything of the following.

Basically I am an accounts assistant at a small book keeping practice, I am registered with ACCA and still to finish all my papers. I have been working in a small practice for the last three years and during this period my boss has been under an investigation COP9.

Now I don't know much about the details of the inquiry I did ask to go to one meeting with him to see what it was all about and get a bit of experience sitting in an inquiry. It seems there was large sums of money banked years ago (I was still in school back then) and HMRC have argued this is money he has earned.

I have in the meantime along with another colleague managed to run the practice on our own and anything I have not been sure of I have just looked it up or even spoke to HMRC and my work so far has been good have not had any complaints and been gaining more clients.

My situation is my boss thinks HMRC are out to shut him down, and has offered me the business for a small amount of money. I am assuming he may want the business back of me at a later date for the same price?