This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

UK SIPP Lunp Sum - French Tax Resident

JEFF26R
UK SIPP Lunp Sum - French Tax Resident

Postby JEFF26R » Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:32 pm

If I am a French Tax resident and 55 years old, and have a UK SIPP that has never been accessed, if I take the whole pot in one lump sum, I understand the pension provider will stop emergancy tax from the transfer | closure.
How may I be sure that I will be entitled to all of the tax back from HMRC?
How may I request this tax refund from HMRC?
How long is the refund likely to take?
Would no UK tax be due as long as I do not return to be a UK Tax resident for 5 financial years from the SIPP closer?

JEFF26R

Re: UK SIPP Lunp Sum - French Tax Resident

Postby JEFF26R » Tue Mar 09, 2021 9:07 am

Before someone is kind, and informed enough, to reply. I have tried the HMRC site for claim a refund, but after I answer the two questions, it does not appear to tell me anything, it seems stuck?
The site says
You usually have to pay tax on your UK Pension.

Your answers
1. What did you pay too much tax on?
A pension
2. Which type of pension did you pay too much tax on?
A UK pension and you live abroad

darthblingbling

Postby darthblingbling » Tue Mar 09, 2021 2:26 pm

Under domestic legislation payments from UK pensions are taxable in the UK. The double tax treaty may however override this if you are tax resident elsewhere.