This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Sole Trader, Non Vat Registered, Vehicle purchase

KPSS
Sole Trader, Non Vat Registered, Vehicle purchase

Postby KPSS » Sun Sep 01, 2019 6:45 pm

Hello, my first post, I found this place via google and a similar question was asked but that was 2012 so?

I am a sole trader who has been trading 14 months. I'm not vat registered and earning around £28k at the moment. The business is going relatively well and Im busy to the point of turning down work. Last year when I set up, I purchased a £2000 van, which is fairly old and is on 160,000 miles. Over the course of the year Ive spent a few thousand on it.... I appreciate this wasn't a sound choice, but I didn't want to invest in anything major at the start when I didnt know how the business was going to take off.

I did my tax return last year myself, and it all went ok. I put the van purchase into the return in a separate column, which I cannot for the life of me remember what it was called..... maybe AIA?

14 months down the line, Im starting to consider a newer vehicle. My current van probably needs a lot more spending on it, so would most likely get scrapped.

The best case scenario for me would be an Estate I think, but I believe in order to claim back any purchase expenses back, it needs be a Commercial Vehicle such as a Van or a Dual Cab truck? Thats correct isn't it?