This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Sole Trader BBLS for new van

SquirrelMonkey
Sole Trader BBLS for new van

Postby SquirrelMonkey » Tue Oct 06, 2020 2:59 pm

Hi,

I'm a sole trader and considering taking out a BBLS for a new van, 100% business use.
If I use a BBLS for a new van, does that mean I can't claim the AIA for the cost of the van in my self assessment?
I usually complete my own tax return but worry that a BBLS will complicate this to the point I won't be able to complete it myself.
But turnover is down significantly this year so I am keen to take advantage of the financial help on offer.

Thanks

robbob

Re: Sole Trader BBLS for new van

Postby robbob » Wed Oct 07, 2020 9:18 am

If I use a BBLS for a new van, does that mean I can't claim the AIA for the cost of the van in my self assessment?
No the BBLS does not have any impact on whether AIA's can be claimed or not.
I usually complete my own tax return but worry that a BBLS will complicate this to the point I won't be able to complete it myself.