This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Buying a laptop for cash

jtufty
Buying a laptop for cash

Postby jtufty » Sun Dec 27, 2020 2:17 pm

Hi,

I am a freelancer.

I desperately need to upgrade my laptop to a high spec one (Im a graphic designer, so need a powerful laptop). I was chatting to a 'friend of a friend' the other week and theyre selling one. Its far cheaper than if I got the equivalent brand new. Its a very good deal. However, he will only accept cash. (I dont know why, he's not self employed or anything). He even seemed reluctant giving me a receipt.

I really dont want to miss this opportunity, but I obviously want to claim it as an expense (its £800). Whats the least I need to do to evidence that its a valid expense to the tax man? Is a reluctant hand-scrawled receipt enough? Or would that likely be a red flag to a tax inspector!?

Thanks

robbob

Re: Buying a laptop for cash

Postby robbob » Mon Dec 28, 2020 3:55 pm

Is a reluctant hand-scrawled receipt enough
Thats perfectly acceptable as long as it contains the main details - being date - seller details and description of goods being sold - with signature too.

The thing with cash is its hard for you to prove at a later date that the transaction is real and kosher.