This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Self Assessment dates and periods

Rob11
Self Assessment dates and periods

Postby Rob11 » Sat Nov 28, 2020 4:46 pm

Hi,
I'm new to the whole self assessment and tax return process and have few questions. I have a job and get a monthly salary through PAYE, I therefore never needed to file a self assessment. Recently I got into trading and I think I now need to send one. It hasn't been requested by HMRC however it's my take after reading their conditions on capital gains report - you need to report if your capital gains are above the CGT allowance or if total sold assets amount is higher than 4 times the CGT allowance.

So first of all I'm not sure if I should just report it by myself whenever I fall into one of these conditions or wait for HMRC to request it, if someone could confirm this it would be great.

Now the main topic is about dates. I know that the financial year is April to April, however I read that the self assessment and tax return have to be made by end of January and then there is something about 2 payments on account that I don't understand. Let me set up an example to picture it: