This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Making Tax Digital

kanrent
Making Tax Digital

Postby kanrent » Mon Sep 20, 2021 5:44 am

Hi I'm a retired British non resident landlord with 1 property and pension total income about £20,000 a year will I have to by law sign up for "Making Tax Digital" ? at the moment I complete a paper self assessment every year and my tax affairs are up to date.
I'm a bit worried about this because I'm computer illiterate, and Internet access is unreliable where I live.
(My rental property is fully managed by a UK letting agent).

kanrent

Re: Making Tax Digital

Postby kanrent » Mon Sep 20, 2021 7:31 am

Forgot to mention I'm not VAT registered

someone

Postby someone » Mon Sep 20, 2021 11:00 am

If your gross rents are 10K or more per year then yes, you will have to do MTD (unless you can get an exemption)

robbob

Postby robbob » Mon Sep 20, 2021 5:45 pm

If your gross rents are 10K or more per year then yes, you will have to do MTD (unless you can get an exemption)
We can always hope this silly pet project of hmrc may be delayed or scrapped or toned down - watch this space.

kanrent

Postby kanrent » Tue Sep 21, 2021 8:02 am

Is it just the same a doing your annual tax return online.
I called HMRC I was told its just replacing the paper self assessment. (or is there more to it)
I'm not VAT registered

someone

Postby someone » Tue Sep 21, 2021 9:37 am

I think it's going to be a _lot_ harder to get right.