This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Can a normal calendar be used to become a non-resident

foxmccloud
Can a normal calendar be used to become a non-resident

Postby foxmccloud » Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:50 pm

I anticipate moving abroad in 2020 for a whole calendar year without returning. I have some shares and commodities that I may sell in that year. I bought them a few years ago in the UK and I am a UK resident. Would I need to extend my stay in that country to the whole financial year (until April) if I was to automatically be classified as a non-resident?

GOV website says:
You’re automatically non-resident if either:

you spent fewer than 16 days in the UK (or 46 days if you haven’t been classed as UK resident for the 3 previous tax years)
I just don't know if this is the tax year or not. And I don't know if I will need to pay CGT to HMRC if I bought the shares here.

AGoodman

Re: Can a normal calendar be used to become a non-resident

Postby AGoodman » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:59 pm

Tax year

And if you have been UK resident for 4 of the prior 7 years, and return within 5 tax years you would be taxed on all gains you made while away

foxmccloud

Postby foxmccloud » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:09 pm

Tax year

And if you have been UK resident for 4 of the prior 7 years, and return within 5 tax years you would be taxed on all gains you made while away
Thanks!