This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

CGT on a Foreign Property

annasproperty
CGT on a Foreign Property

Postby annasproperty » Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:24 pm

Hi all,

I am a UK tax resident and I own a property abroad (EU) in which I lived before I moved to the UK 7 years ago. The property had been gifted to me prior to my move in 2004. The property is empty at the moment and I keep paying the service charge and the bills. I had it let for 12 months but the rental income didn't go over £1,000 in a tax year therefore no foreign income was reportable, nor UK tax was due to be paid.

I don't own a property in the UK, I've been renting this whole time.

My questions is: if I sell the aforementioned property, am I liable for the CGT on the profit that I make from the sale? I don't suppose it can be classed as my main residence as I haven't lived there in 7 years. However, it's not a buy-to-let property nor it is a second home that I own.

I would be most grateful for any advice.

darthblingbling

Re: CGT on a Foreign Property

Postby darthblingbling » Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:42 pm

Yes but you may get some relief via PPR letting relief as it may have been your main residence at one point. But can't be considered your main residence once you moved out.

First concern is tax in the country where it's situated as they'll have first dibs on taxing rights.

Throw some figures at us, what are you likely to sell for ?

annasproperty

Postby annasproperty » Sat Jun 29, 2019 4:50 pm