This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

sole trader vs incorporation for tax purposes does it make sense?

daed
sole trader vs incorporation for tax purposes does it make sense?

Postby daed » Wed Sep 08, 2021 3:38 pm

Hi

If I am a sole trader that has income of £50k I would pay tax of £7486 (20% of 37430 after personal allowance) (not including National insurance for simplicity)

If I form a company instead and have income of £50k and pay myself a wage of £8,840 leaving £41160 to be taxed at a corporation tax rate of 19% I would pay corporation tax of £7820.
This is already more tax than I would pay as a sole trader, even if I paid out the resulting company net profit of £33340 as dividend and paid dividend tax of 7.5% (£2070) on £27610 of it (after last of personal allowance and dividend allowance is deducted)
my total tax would be £9890 (corporation tax + dividend tax)

If I had even higher levels of income say £500k then it would be even worse from what I can fathom because a sole trader would pay 45% on most of it (additional income tax rate) vs 57.1 for a company (38.1 additional divided tax rate + 19% corporation tax)