This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Is my C.I.S. 20% tax being paid

Milnes
Is my C.I.S. 20% tax being paid

Postby Milnes » Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:48 pm

Hi, im a self emplyed electrician working for a firm on the C.I.S. basis.
20% of my wage is taken to pay my tax

HOW CAN I BE SURE THIS IS BEING PAID?

I have not recieved any payslips but even if I had, how can I be sure its been paid?
Any response would be greatly apprrciated.

Gaz Milnes

nikkisizer

Re: Is my C.I.S. 20% tax being paid

Postby nikkisizer » Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:08 pm

Hello Gaz,

The firm should provide you with a slip each time you receive payment from them showing your gross pay and tax deducted.

If they are not providing you with these then request them for all payments received.

If you experience a problem obtaining these from the firm then you can call HMRC, give them your CIS number and explain the situation.

Happy to help if you need any further assistance.
Kind regards,

Nikki Sizer

Sizer & Co Accountants
nikki@sizeraccountants.com
[url]http://www.sizeraccountants.com[/url]

Birmingham - London - Manchester - Leeds

tom 7000

Postby tom 7000 » Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:14 pm

GET THE PAYSLIPS...with these its proof it has...and erm...if the main contractor doesnt pay it over then HMRC will string him up to dry. Its not your responsibility to make your contractor pay, it is to get the payslips.

Did I say get the payslips...

robbob

Postby robbob » Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:34 pm

Hello Gaz