This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

General business expense: queries

teo77
General business expense: queries

Postby teo77 » Fri Mar 18, 2022 9:37 am

Good Morning,

Simple question (forgive me if something similar might been already asked, but a quick 'search' didn't bring up anything similar):
I am a sole trader in construction, and do a simple self employed tax return myself (no accountant, tax year April to April); what I have normally done so far is that I claim my business expenses (capital etc) each year in between that time period (tools, vehicles etc etc), with receipts of expenses to prove everything.
Would it be possible to claim an expense (lets say a particular tool) outside for the current tax year?
Tax year 2022/2023, item purchased close to tax year end of 2021/2022.
My understanding is that it is not possible, just double checking if there was something that would allow for something like this?
Thank you very much.

robbob

Re: General business expense: queries

Postby robbob » Fri Mar 18, 2022 10:02 am

Tax year 2022/2023, item purchased close to tax year end of 2021/2022.
It depends on the method you use for calculating your buisness profits do you use normal accruals method or the cash basis ?