This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Self Employed? help?!

joebloggs

Postby joebloggs » Tue Aug 03, 2004 11:14 am

I am a UK resident and have just started working in the UK for a German employer. I have to invoice the company every month for my work and have been told to arrange my own tax and NI contributions- therefore am I self-employed?!?
Should I register with the Inland Revenue for self assesment? Also I am a full time student, does this affect the amount of tax I will pay?

mike.hayes@firstcapi

Postby mike.hayes@firstcapi » Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:02 am

dear Joe,

The best starting point is the Inland Revenue booklet IR56, this is available on their website:-

http://www.inlandrevenue.gov.uk/pdfs/ir56.pdf

In general 'employers' check these things fairly carefully, as they don't want to fall foul of the Inland Revenue.

You need to register with the Inland Revenue for NI contributions within 2 months of starting self-employment, it may be as well to register for self-assessment at the same time.

I am afraid that full-time students have no special tax breaks and pay tax at the same rates as everyone else.

What you need to consider is the legal questions relating to self-employment e.g. no sick pay, no holiday pay, do you need insurance both for you and whoever you undertake work for, will you get regular income etc.