This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Private collector looking to start business - please help!

bobd
Private collector looking to start business - please help!

Postby bobd » Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:22 pm

Hi all,

I'm looking to start trading in the near future and have some tax concerns that I haven't been able to find answers to. If any of you can help, or point me in the right direction I would be much obliged =)

I've been collecting American comics for many years, on and off, and have accumulated a substantial collection. As any collector does, I buy and sell to improve my collection. As I understand it, this has no tax implications at this point as it is not done with the intention of making a profit(?)

However, given my experience in this maket I would now like to try my hand as a dealer. I intend to operate as a sole trader, will deal exclusively in second-hand goods, and will mostly be buying and selling online. I want to begin using part of my collection for my initial stock, and build up from there.

I have some specific questions below, but generally speaking... how do I keep what remains of my collection seperate from my business as far as the taxman is concerned?

Any advice on that point would be much appreciated. If anyone can answer any of the following specifics, even better =)