This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Best Tax effective Salary/Dividend Ratio

miss_moneypenny
Best Tax effective Salary/Dividend Ratio

Postby miss_moneypenny » Tue Apr 26, 2016 2:10 pm

Hi!

I'm hoping to have some clarification on whether I am interpreting the new dividend tax rules correctly when trying to configure the most tax effective way for my husband to extract the companys profits. I am an accountant but I only generally do small sole trader/partnerships, I used to do companies years ago but my hubbys accounts are the only company ones I do now, so haters please don't slam me for asking this question, I do not inflict my company tax expertise (or lack of!) on any clients, this is purely a question for ourselves :D

I have come up with the following scenario, which I think will work the best, if anyone could confirm if they agree or not, and give some feedback it would be most appreciated. If it is a good plan (which I'm pretty sure it is) it will hopefully be useful to others looking to maximise their tax savings too :D

Here goes (I will talk in the 3rd person)...