This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Worldwide Disclosure Facility - how to calculate amount due

julz.ray
Worldwide Disclosure Facility - how to calculate amount due

Postby julz.ray » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:01 pm

Hi,

I am a UK Resident, non-dom, and just found out that I had to pay income tax on interests earned on accounts in France above 2,000£ in any year, given my status. I have to go back as far as 2012 in my disclosure and calculation of interests and wanted to make sure I have the calculation right.

At the moment, I am doing the following:
- taking any interest earned above 2,000£ in any given year
- applying my income tax rate of that year
- applying the penalty (at the moment, one-off)
- applying interests (at the moment, compounded daily from the 31st of December following the end of the tax year, as this would have been the time limit to do my self-assessment and pay any outstanding tax).

Am I missing anything/ doing it in the right order? Also, is the penalty a one-off, or compounded every year? Finally, are the interests (3% from 2009 to 2016) compounded daily or yearly?

Thanks a lot for your reply!

Julie

AmanSood

Re: Worldwide Disclosure Facility - how to calculate amount due

Postby AmanSood » Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:02 pm

Hi Julz

I assume you have already done the analysis to make sure that electing to be taxed on your worldwide income on an arising basis is the most tax efficient approach. On this basis a few points to note